arrow arrow2 audio-visual catering close delegate-day-rate download-icon form-icon instagram-iconlinkedin-iconlogo-mobile pattern phone-icon pinterestquotes twitter-icontwitter youtube-icon

On 12 November 2019, the Political Studies Association (PSA) Awards ceremony celebrated the public, academics, media, culture and politicians who have shaped an extraordinary year in politics.

The awards dinner was attended by almost 200 guests. On arrival, guests enjoyed a drinks reception in the Hoare Memorial Hall of the Westminster event venue. The guests then proceeded to the Assembly Hall for the awards presentation and dinner. The three-course menu featured wild mushroom and truffle guinea fowl ballotine with parmesan risotto cakes as a main course and milk chocolate sphere tiramisu for dessert.

The in-house audio-visual team of the Westminster venue coordinated staging, lighting, sound, and projection for the ceremony.

Comedian Ayesha Hazarika welcomed guests, speakers, and award recipients to the event before English broadcaster, journalist and author, Michael Crick, presented the awards.

Award winners included:

  • Rt Hon David Gauke MP awarded Politician of the Year
  • Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP awarded Parliamentarian of the Year.
  • Luciana Berger MP and Rt Hon Anna Soubry MP were both awarded Political Courage
  • Rt Hon John Bercow awarded Lifetime Achievement in Politics
  • Sir David Attenborough and Extinction Rebellion were both awarded Campaigner of the Year
  • Leo Varadkar TD recognised with International Recognition award
  • Emma Vardy awarded Journalist of the Year
  • Andrew Neil awarded Broadcaster of the Year
  • Carolyn Harris MP and Alison Thewliss MP were both awarded Backbencher of the Year award.
  • Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP was awarded the PSA’S Best Use of Evidence award.
  • This year the Political Podcast of the Year award went to Bellingcat and was accepted by its founder Eliot Higgins.
  • Lisa McGee was awarded the PSA’s Contribution to the Arts and Culture Award for the sitcom Derry Girls.
  • Professor Carole Pateman was awarded the Sir Isaiah Berlin Award for Lifetime Contribution to Political Studies.
  • Dr. Katy Hayward was awarded the PSA’s Political Studies Communicator.
  • Finally, Dr. Angela O’Hagan was awarded for her tireless efforts in informing the public on how gender shapes decisions on budgets and hence people’s lives.

A video recording of the awards ceremony will be broadcast on BBC Parliament between Christmas and New Year.

The Political Studies Association is the UK’s leading learned society dedicated to supporting and promoting the study and public understanding of Politics. We are a charity (registration number 1071825) and have a membership from right across academia, education, policy-making, and thought-leadership.  The PSA will celebrate its 70th anniversary in 2020.

For more information on the Political Studies Association visit or follow @PolStudiesAssoc on Twitter or search #PSAAwards.

Church House Westminster provides venue hire for corporate events, product launchesChristmas parties and offers the perfect award ceremony venue. Its central London location, near to the River Thames with convenient transport links makes it one of the most popular venues in London.

If you are venue finding for an awards ceremony in London, the party venue offers a blank canvas event space with plenty of wow factor, including a stunning 30-foot glass dome.


Stay in touch with us. Subscribe to get the latest news in your inbox.